Complete your 1500 hours at an accredited school of cosmetology (We like Paul Mitchell the School Atlanta , of course.) or your 3000 hour, 18 month apprenticeship at a licensed salon.
Come over to THEHAIRCRAFT.COM and take our all-inclusive, one-on-one class.
Take and pass both your written (theory) and practical exams with PSI. Here are some links to help you with this process:
Fill out your Master of Cosmetology or other license (Hair Design, Esthetician, etc.) Application from the State Board of Cosmetology website.
Print your "Affidavit Regarding Citizenship" (proof that you're a US Citizen) from the State Board of Cosmetology website .
Fill it out with a licensed Notary. Hey! Did you know that we're licensed Notary Publics? We can help you out with that! Our fee for Notary services is $5.
Mail, email, or fax your completed license application (unless you applied online), your notarized Affidavit of Citizenship, a copy of your Driver's License, a copy of your exam results for both your written and practical exams, and your payment to the Georgia Board of Cosmetology.
Here's the address:
Georgia Board of Cosmetology
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
The email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The fax number: 478-314-9746
Wait for your application to be reviewed and approved. This could take anywhere from 2 to 30 days, after which you will be notified by mail or email. You can verify your license here .
Congratulations! Print out your new license at the State Board of Cosmetology website .
If you're wondering about reciprocity, apprenticeship requirements, or have other licensing questions, here's a link to the Georgia Cosmetology State Board's FAQ page.
**Please do not send us your personal documents or make any license-related payments to us. While we are
happy to do all we can to help you pass your test, we are not affiliated with the Georgia Cosmetology State Board in any way.
Having trouble getting your license approved? Consider these questions:
* Have you taken and passed both sections of your exam?
* Did you provide ALL the documents the state board requires, including proof of citizenship and your payment?
* Have you allowed up to 30 days for the state board to review your application?
* Have you been charged with a felony or misdemeanor?
Past or current criminal charges can lead to longer review times by the state board. (This includes DUI charges.) If you have any criminal history the state board has the right to turn down your application for licensure. In the event of a denied application, you can appeal to the state board. However, the decision whether to accept or deny any application lies with them, regardless of your exam results or your completion of the other requirements for licensing. Even after you are licensed the state board has the power to revoke your license at any time, for any number of reasons. These possible reasons for revocation are enumerated on the State Board of Cosmetology website , under the heading "Laws, Policies, and Rules."
If you've followed all these steps and you're still having problems, contact the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology at (478) 207-2440. Please don't contact us because, as mentioned above, we are not affiliated with the State Board in any way and you will only be wasting your own time.